Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel” or whirling disc and refers to energy points in your body. Chakras are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay “open” and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being.

There are as many as 114 different chakras, but there are seven main chakras that run along your spine. These are the chakras that most practitioners are referring to when we talk about them in a spiritual context. Each of these seven main chakras has a corresponding number, name, color, specific area of the spine from the sacrum to the crown of the head, and health focus.

  • 1st/ Root Chakra

Color Red

Location: Base of the Spine, Tailbone

Reponsible for physical identity, grounding,  and stability.

“I am connected to Mother Earth, my body, mind and spirit are grounded, centered and purified.”

  • 2nd/ Sacral

Color: Orange

Location: 2 inches below the navel above the pubic bone, womb or testes

Responsible for sexuality, pleasure, creativity

“I love all dimensions of Myself. I delight in the woven tapestry that is my life.”

  • 3rd/ Solar Plexus Chakra

Color: Yellow

Location: Abdomen/ Stomach/ The “Gut”

Responsible for self esteem, confidence and ambition

“My Will and Divine Will are One. I am connected to the abundant flow of the Universe and easily manifest my dreams.”

  • 4th/ Heart Chakra

Color: Green

Location center of the chest above the heart

Responsible for love, compassion and empathy

“My heart is open to receive the energy of Love. I radiate the essence of Love and walk my path with Ease and Grace.”

  • 5th/ Throat Chakra

Color: Blue

Location: The throat

Responsible for communication, personal truth

“I am aligned with my highest truth and communicate this with love and honour. My words echo softly with the Universe”

  • 6th/ Third Eye/ Brow Chakra

Color: Indigo/ Purple

Location center of the forehead

Responsible for intelligence, mental acuity, imagination

“My mind is open to new vision. I expand my awareness through my Higher Self.”

  • 7th/ Crown Chakra

Color: Violet/ White

Location: Top of the head.

Responsible for awareness, intuition, and connection to the Divine.

“I am connected to the Divine Source of the Universe. I trust that I am Light.”

Peace and Blessings,
The Secret Door
13 W. 2nd Street
Morgan Hill, CA 95037